Posted by: selenafulton | May 4, 2011

Graduations

This time of year is full of endings and new beginnings. With graduation, comes the end of an era. Yet it’s also a fresh new beginning. I recently attended my daughter’s college graduation and was impressed by so many students. A name was announced every three seconds for almost two hours. I was impressed by how many graduated with honors, my own daughter one of them – magna cum laude.

I thought about how these same students, how only four years before had arrived on campus, looking like Ma and Pa Kettle with all their worldly possessions packed up in cars. I remember feeling almost like a bad mother on that day, bringing my daughter to another town and leaving her behind. But I also knew doing so was the way it must be…. The baby bird must leave the nest and forage out on its own.

Most of the graduates had an air of sophistication about them. Some were excited, some bored, and yet were some still stuck in student mode. They rebelled against tradition and establishment, wearing shorts and flip-flops under their robes. 

I wondered about their futures, their dreams, all bright and shiny on that day. I cried happy tears for all of them, wondering where life would take each of them.

I noted four young men on crutches and the writer in me wondered if their injury was caused by tragedy or carelessness. I suppose I will never know.

If all the world’s a stage, then every life has a story.

What’s your story?

Responses

  1. Selena, great start to a wonderful blogging experience. You made me remember my own college graduation….oh so many years ago. I wasn’t too rebellious. Dressed nice but comfortably under the robe. The ceremony was too long, speaker too dry. When it was over, I treated my family to a back yard grill steak & baked potato dinner to celebrate. Yes, there was beer. I’m just a little rebelious. Hahahaha!

  2. Thanks for stopping by Jaye!

  3. Beautiful job! I love your photos and writing. My oldest is about to start college this fall. I will be thinking of you as we drive her up there!

    -Mary

  4. Very nice! It’s been a long time since graduation for me. The last graduation I attended was my nephew’s high school graduation, and this year he is getting his master’s degree. Time flies.

  5. Beautiful post, Selena! Congratulations on beginning your new blog. May you write to your heart’s content. 🙂

    Lis

  6. Congratulations to your daughter–and to you! What a big milestone.

    And congrats on starting your new blog!

  7. Graduations always make me look forward. Mine or others.

    I love planning for the future, the excitement it brings of all the possibilities of what could be. I guess that’s why I love writing stories. So many possibilities, so many paths for my characters.

    Congrats on your daughters graduation and your new blog. Exciting, both!

  8. You know my story already. “In the beginning…” 🙂 Thank you for sharing this, Selena! My oldest is 16 and talking about college. I feel like I just brought him home from the hospital. It’ll be a blink and he’s packing up to go. I know he can’t wait, and I should be eager to discover what’s ahead of me, but I can’t help being a little nervous for the both of us. He’s a great kid and I think he’s learned what he needs me to show him about facing the world. I suppose the hesitation is all mine; I don’t want him to go. But he’ll be fine; I trust him.

    As the song goes, “Life’s about changing; nothing ever stays the same.” Congrats on watching your daughter move on to the next stage in her life! Magna cum laude is awesome!! (And congrats on not having tuition payments anymore!) 🙂 Great job, both of you!!

  9. Congratulations to your daughter! And to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

