Posted by: selenafulton | June 11, 2011

Writer’s Block

Every writer experiences it – the dreaded writer’s block. I can’t answer for anyone else, but how do I overcome this problem? One of the things in my office is a folding table, directly behind my desk. You see, when I get writer’s block, I make jewelry.

Making jewelry is a natural for me. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve fixed my own jewelry. Only in the last couple years have I taken up beading. I’ve found that sometimes being creative on a different level sometimes helps writer’s block. I can’t paint or draw, but I love beads. Love going to the store, feeling the different textures, seeing all the colors. My favorite beads are the glass beads. I have to forcibly prevent myself from buying up the entire store.

So when my characters are misbehaving, or staring at me, waiting for me to tell them what to do, I try another approach. I swivel in my chair and look at my beads. While I am working with my hands, manipulating colors and shapes, I am also thinking of my plot and wondering why my characters act the way they do.

This is what I made last night. Pretty, isn’t it?

This isn’t exactly a stress-free hobby, especially if I drop my work, or bump the table. I don’t know how many times I’ve sent multitudes of beads scattering to the four corners of the room. Or how many times I’ve gotten on my hands and knees to retrieve wayward beads.

Beading to get rid of writer’s block doesn’t always work, but even when it doesn’t, I have something pretty to wear.

Responses

  1. I can say from experience that Beth’s jewelry is beautiful because I have a bracelet I got from her. I like this suggestion, work on something else that sparks your creative edge. June


Leave a Reply

Categories

