Posted by: selenafulton | June 29, 2011

Love is…


Love is precious.

My parents will be married for fifty-three years in September. Last December, we found out Mom had Stage 4 Colon cancer. The news was frightening, hitting us in the gut. Of course, being in the information age like we are, the first thing I did was get on the internet. What I found was not good. I admit it, I cried. I wasn’t ready to lose my mom.

But Mom is not a statistic, she’s a fighter, a rebel. She’s tough. There’s not a lot she’s afraid of. The last six months have been a battle she is determined to win. Chemo is rough. My aunt, who is also a survivor, says when you get cancer, “you give it all you got and then dig a little deeper.” And Mom has. Our family has pitched in, worked together and she’s beating the odds.

She says, “They didn’t know about me.”

My dad adores her. This candid picture at their grandson’s wedding captured a special moment between them. You cannot see his eyes, but it’s apparent he is in complete adoration of his wife. The camera caught the essence of their love. Even at the moments when she has been the sickest, he smiles patiently and holds her hand. They joke and laugh about their “wild chemo adventure”. They are opposites, and they complement each other. She is fierce, he is laid back. But their love is passionette and special, strong and real. It has brought them through illness, poverty and joy.

So if you want to know why I became a romance writer, why I believe in love even in this dirty world we live in where divorce is rampant, it is because I grew up watching their romance. Not the roses and diamonds kind, but the kind where you grow old with your best friend. The epitome of the vows so many forget.

Love is worth fighting for.

To love and to cherish, in sickness and in health, for richer and poorer…

Responses

  1. Beautiful! Your parents inspire me to write better romance.

  2. My prayers are with your mom and you, too. Your title is “Love Is,” well, I think love is helping your poor crit partners by sharing your computer skills. Love, June

  3. Hi Beth, “Love Is” is a very appropriate title. Especially when you help your poor crit partners by sharing your computer skills. Thank you. And my prayers are with your mom. Love, June

  4. I love it!!!

  5. Brought tears to my eyes, as reading your post is all too familiar with the journey my own parents shared. You could have written this about my own mom and dad, just change the names. Thank you for posting this. Not sure I’ll get through this day tear-free, but in a joyous-life-is-to-be-shared-with-love kind of way. Both my parents are now gone. I just took a break from sorting a box of their pictures and old letters. How awesome to read this today. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Absolutely adorable!

  7. *sniff* that was beautiful.

  8. Thank you all for commenting. My dad had a tear in his eye when I read this to them also.


Leave a Reply

Categories

