Posted by: selenafulton | July 9, 2011

History in the making…

Today I witnessed history. My husband and I went to the launch of the space shuttle. It was a cloudy day, with a 70% chance of rain. We didn’t know if we should travel the distance only to find the mission was almost scrubbed because of weather. But since this was the last launch, we both wanted to be there and took the chance. I’m so glad we went. It was the most awesome thing. The sound alone was like more than a dozen jets all put together!

I grew up in the 60’s when America was in a race with the Soviets to be first in space. In elementary school, they would crowd several classes together and we would stare at the television brought in. We watched history unfold through the fuzzy black and white footage as the men walked on the moon. Everyone wanted to be an astronaut when they grew up and television shows like Star Trek and even My Favorite Martian aired.

We were enthralled with space.

Many inventions have come into commonplace since the space age began. Things even us non-astronauts enjoy on a regular basis. Some have improved our health, others made us more efficient, but the truth is, the space program has changed our world how we see it. Who ever would think we could send a message around the world in seconds? Our cell phones have more power and memory and can do more work than computers that once filled huge glassed in rooms!

To quote Gene Rodenberry’s opening line, “Space, the final frontier.” I am sad to see this program come to an end.

Responses

  1. Hi Selena,

    I have been here before because I recognize your lovely picture. I love beach scenes. I also like the muted not quite turquoise background color you selected. Blue and green mixed together in every variation make me smile because they remind me of water.

    Lucky you to see the last shuttle. It’s something I was always “gonna” do. I have however been to the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum numerous times so I’m not a total slacker.

    We must be the same generation. I was also cognizant during the 60s in my own sheltered kind of way. Space travel always fascinated me. I was an original trekkie, if you can believe that. I’ve got communicator pens and everything.

    So, nice place you’ve got here!

    Maggie Toussaint
    a little left of center, a little right of disaster
    http://www.maggietoussaint.com

  2. So cool, Selena. I thought about going and bringing the wee ones, but I think it would have been too much – it’s much further for me! Great picture, though. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

