Posted by: selenafulton | December 23, 2011

Obstacles or Opportunities

Well, December began on a productive note. I had the bulk of my Christmas cards made out and delivered and the tree was up, even though not yet decorated. Planned to make cookies for all the men on my list, and jewelry for the women.

Well, you know what they say about the best laid plans…

On December 10, I went to my local writer’s group party, and decided to go shopping afterwards. The plan was to look for a dress to wear to my daughter’s wedding, then go home, clean the house and finish decorating. Except it didn’t happen that way. I fell at the mall, broke my right wrist in 3 places, putting everything to a screetching halt!

It is a most humbling thing to be unable to do even the simple things yourself. Thank God for my husband. He has done EVERYTHING. He took me to the doctor and hospital, where I got at least 6 pins in my arm. And I thought the break hurt!! He has cut my food, bathed and dressed me for the last two weeks, with no idea when things will change.

He cut a few shirts up to make the sleeve large enough to go over the splint and pins without bumping my arm, a trashbag to cover my arm in the shower, and an overturned 5 gallon bucket is my bath chair. We are getting creative. I am learning to eat with my left hand, brush my teeth (harder than I’d thought) and my handwriting looks like a child’s scrawl. So thankful I can type some with my left hand!

Obstacle or opportunity? Depends on how you look at things. This has certainly not been fun. It has slowed me down, and changed the direction I’d planned. But it has been an adventure. You can bet I’ll use this situation in a book one day. Like how I still don’t have a dress to wear to my daughter’s wedding!

Responses

  1. Oh, Selena. I can’t imagine having to be that dependent but at least you’re adapting! Can’t wait to hear the good news of getting those pins out!

  2. Beth, I am sooo sorry to hear about this. My prayer is that God can use all things for our good and I’m praying that’s what He’s doing even right now.

  3. Praying for you, my friend!


Leave a Reply

Categories

