Posted by: selenafulton | February 13, 2012

Tag, you’re it!

Mom was young when she had her children. She was almost twenty when I was born, and my brother came less than two years later. She had a playful nature, but was always teaching us things too. Our family vacations always included something historical or educational.

 

Without a lot of money, she taught us to use our imaginations. One of my favorite games we played was a sort of tag. She would begin a story, and oh what a wonderful storyteller she was. Then it became my turn to continue the story, to expand it. I loved this game. I’m not sure if my brother hated it, or if his story ideas were too difficult to follow, but somehow the story game always ended with him.

 

During Mom’s battle with cancer last year, she and I worked on a story together. She dictated it to me and I transcribed it from the tape. I am thankful I couldn’t type fast enough, because now I have her voice on tape. What a treasure.

 

For weeks, I was unable to work on this story. The mother of the hero dies and I get past that scene. In fact, during that time I’d stopped writing, my creative well had run dry from an overload of emotions. Each time I opened the document, I couldn’t go on. I felt I disappointed her, because she would never read the ending. About two weeks after she died, my husband said, “Don’t you think it’s time you finished that story you and your mama were writing?”

 

So Mom, I opened that document for the first time in I don’t know how long. I finished the mother’s death scene with tears in streaming dow my face, but tears weren’t the only thing that was flowing. I am working on our story again. Unbeknownst to me, you played my favorite childhood game when you dictated Bridget’s Baby. I’ve already addded seven new pages.

I wonder if you knew this was a story you would not finish. Did you know this was the last time we would play our game?

You tagged me, now I must finish this one for you.

Responses

  1. Beth, What a beautiful, touching story. I can see where you got your talent for writing. June

  2. Beth, This is a sweet,awesome story. Thank you so much for sharing with us.

    • Sorry, I hit something wrong before I was finished. See you Saturday.
      –Pat


Leave a Reply

Categories

