Posted by: selenafulton | March 10, 2012

100 x 100

Some of my writer friends are participating in a challenge. For one hundred days we are challenging each other to write at least one hundred words each day. If we fail to write our quota, we have to start over at Day One. No excuses. Even if we’re at Day Ninety-nine and our computer crashes. There’s always pen and paper.

Today is my Day Five. I am thankful I began my writing early this morning, because I received a rejection on a manuscript AND was told no on a job interview. All in the same day. I dearly wanted both a contract and this job, more than anything.

I stopped. Dear hubby brought me some chocolate. I did laundry. Vacuumed the house.

Then I received an email from one of my friends that basically said when something negative comes into your life, do a 180. Turn around and focus on the positive. So I did. I will sell that manuscript eventually. I will get a new day job.

Voila!

In the space of an hour, two different companies called me. I have two interviews next week. I’m still waiting on an agent to get back with me on my manuscript. And the Golden Heart will announce the finalists in seventeen days…I have just as much chance at finalling as anyone else.

So next time you feel down, do a 180 and look to the good in your situation. Never give up. Keep going, no matter what, or you will have to start over at your Day One.

And yes, I wrote more than my one hundred words today. But tomorrow is a new day.

Responses

  1. Even when it’s raining, keep looking for that silver lining! 🙂 Go get ’em!!

  2. Thank you, Beth. That was so encouraging. I’ll continue to pray for you. June

  3. Good for you. You go girl!

  4. We must remember what happened to Peter.. As long as he kept his eyes & focus on Jesus, he walked on water; but when he took his eyes & focus off.. what happened? The same thing that happens to us when we look at our circumstances instead of keeping our focus on Jesus!


Leave a Reply

Categories

