Posted by: selenafulton | March 17, 2012

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

I have always loved St. Patrick’s Day. Maybe because of all the green people wore, reminding me spring was on its way. Maybe because I loved the idea of a pot of gold waiting for me, somewhere over the rainbow…who knows? Do you do anything special for St. Patrick’s Day? Drink green beer? Go to a parade? Eat corned beef and cabbage?

I have a special piece of jewelry I wear every March 17th. When I was in 9th grade, my mom hinted about one of my Christmas presents. She said, “It’s an earthy gift.” Mom delighted in surprising me every year and this one had me stumped. I finally said she gave me a piece of dirt.

But it became one of my treasured gifts. It was a genuine four leaf clover on a silver chain. Not valuable monetarily, but such a neat gift. I still have it and it is especially precious to me now that Mom is gone. When I wear it, I still hear her voice as she tells me about my earthy gift and her laughter when I can’t figure it out.

So, what do you do for St. Patrick’s Day?

Responses

  1. Happy St. Pat’s to you, Beth. Blessings. You’re in my prayers everyday.

  2. Corned beef! This year I made a TON (it was on sale) so I froze a lot of it and will have it again when the mood strikes. Forget the cabbage; I’m making ruebins!


Leave a Reply

Categories

