Posted by: selenafulton | April 4, 2012

Ideas

Some people ask me, what made you decide to write…?

Story ideas come from everywhere. Some stories are begging to be written. Something you see in the news, a sign you drive by everyday, the reunion of a military man with his family, everything has the potential to be a story.

Okay, you have an idea for a story. Now how do you decide, and where do you start?

My current work in progress is a modern-day fairytale. I’ve always loved fairytales, and one of my favorite movies is The 10th Kingdom. It is a rather long movie, mixing a bunch of fairytales together (hence the kingdoms), the 10th Kingdom being what we call the “real world”. Trolls discover a boom box that plays Night Fever, magic mirrors abound, and of course, there is the proverbial witch.

So where did I get the idea for my current story? Believe it or not, a crystal ornament. I have been mulling the story around in my mind for a while now, while working on other stories. But this ornament, a crystal shoe, sits on my desk, begging for its story to be written.

Want to know more? Stay tuned…

Responses

  1. Did you win that at a holiday party? Shoes always seem to be popular. 🙂

  2. Yep! Won it at the FCRW party. 🙂

  3. Ok, I can see this modern day glass slipper being fascinating. Can’t wait to hear the developing the story. Luck!

  4. Oooh, a crystal shoe! I am already thinking of the beautiful dress, sparkly ballroom, and handsome prince. There are so many possibilities for a modern day version. Can’t wait to hear more. 🙂

  5. I find ideas are often like naughty children — right there when you don’t need them and nowhere to be found when you do. I’ve taken to jotting down notes in a notebook, but I have to say that sometimes what was crystal clear to me when I wrote it is distinctly muddy when I try to figure out what it was all about.

    But the occasional idea does break the surface . . .

    • Many times, I type my ideas on my computer. I also have scraps of paper everywhere. One day…

  6. I found an opening on my laptop hard drive I’d completely forgot I wrote.

    I’m all in for the bright and shiny. It’s the hard work (like editing) that slows me down.


Leave a Reply

Categories

