Posted by: selenafulton | June 5, 2012

Following the Dream…

Dreams are just dreams, right? Something you think you’d like to do, or have, but since they’re dreams, there’s no hope of ever attaining them, right? Why would you want to live in a world without dreams? Without hope?

But like in my favorite musical, South Pacific lyrics from the song “Happy Talk” go “If you don’t have a dream, how you gonna make your dream come true?”

Indeed.

Success of any kind begins with a dream. A plan. Ask any successful person. You must have a vision of what you want to do, where you want to be, but it doesn’t stop there. You have to do the homework, put in the sweat and aching muscles, the time, the heartache, and the loss. And even then, sometimes it doesn’t happen.

In fifteen days….FIFTEEN DAYS…my first novella will be available. While writing it didn’t take particularly long, it was the journey that took time. I had a dream, to be a published author, ever since I was in elementary school. But wishing doesn’t always make it so. In fact, wishing is useless without a plan and hard work.

I had to learn the craft, learn the rules, then learn how I can break them to create my own fresh voice. I had to put in hours, days, weeks of my time, because writing is more than typing a bunch of words. I had to put myself out there and risk the big heartbreaking R. Rejection. It doesn’t matter if you write a Pulitzer Prize winning novel if it never gets off your hard drive, nobody will see it…or believe you.

So go ahead. Dream. Plan. Then learn the ropes and work hard. Dream your OWN dream, not someone else’s. At the end of your life, you won’t regret dreaming, you’ll regret not even trying.

I would love it if you buy my novella, Never Let Go on June 20, 2012. Here is the link in case you are curious. If you are so inclined, write a review, tell your friends.

Image

http://www.thewildrosepress.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=195&products_id=4884

Oh, and my dream does not end here. Because the best is yet to come.

 

Responses

  1. At the end of your life, you won’t regret dreaming, you’ll regret not even trying.

    Well said, Selina! Congrats on seeing your dreams come true.

  2. Great post, Selina. You are so right on what a person will really regret at the end of their life. Big or small, everyone should go after their dreams. Congratulations on your debut. I’m sure it will be the first of many! 🙂

  3. Dream away! Good thing to be reminded of when everyday problems seem overwhelming. I appreciate the reminder!


Leave a Reply

Categories

