Posted by: selenafulton | July 15, 2012

Another Side of Writing

Another side of writing

Saturday, I went to one of my writer’s meetings. Let me tell you, if you are a member of a chapter and don’t attend the meetings, you are only hurting yourself. For years, I paid my annual dues, but I always had an excuse not to go. I needed to do the laundry, friends invited us over for a cookout. Whatever the event, it was always on THAT day. Then one day I decided it was time to get my money’s worth and started attending ALL my writers meetings. You know what happened? The laundry still got done, and I was able to work around the schedule.

But something else happened. I got serious about my writing. I carved out time not only for adding words onto my manuscript, but to learn about the craft from other authors. I learned about marketing, etc. And you know what happened? I got a contract and sold my first works.

So how much do you want to be a published author? How important is your dream? Are you willing to do what it takes?

And recently, I learned not all meetings are necessarily about the craft of writing. Some, like this one, dealt with the author as a person. We sit in front of our computers for hours, working on our story. Writing is sometimes quite a solitary existence, as we grab out time from our families and listen to the stories in our head. But what are we doing for our bodies? Our minds?

One aspect the speakers dealt with was relaxation and tapping into your subconscious. We were taught breathing and relaxation exercise and told to go to our Happy Place. Let me tell you, I came to this meeting agitated by some of my own personal problems. I opened my mind to the speaker. During the relaxation session, I actually yawned afterwards.

Another aspect is our surroundings. Surround yourself with positive things. If your desk is chaotic, is this the best environment to write in? How about the rest of your house? If your subconscious mind is thinking, I really need to pick up…dust that…put away… You get the picture. You’re thinking about your TO DO list instead of your story.

I came home from my meeting and the first thing I did was clear the clutter from my desk. I organized, tossed and dusted. Then I sat in my chair and smiled. Of course, the rest of my office is still in chaos, so I don’t turn around. I will tackle that job that I have put off for too long, and settle back down to my writing.

Of course, negative things affect all of us, not just writers. We can all benefit from de-stressing our bodies and de-cluttering our lives. So, how do you de-clutter your mind?

Better still…what do you do to get to your happy place?

Responses

  1. Good post, Beth!

  2. Great post! And it’s funny how things happen. I’ve been wanting to clear off my writing desk of weeks. I finally did it today (before I read your post). I really did feel so much better for having done it and I was more productive in my ms today then I was all last week. I also decided, now that the desk was no longer a fire hazard, to light a scented candle while I worked. It was so nice to have a lavender fragrance wafting around as I typed. So there is definitely truth to what you’ve shared. Thanks!

    • It really does help. Unfortunately, I haven’t been motivated to clear the “other side” of my office. Yet.

  3. You’re absolutely right about writing groups and making the meetings. Although I belong to two critique groups that meet regularly, I found that going to the RWA meeting [local chapter] was a completely different experience for me. I’m not sure if it was because it was all women or whether I was just lucky with this particular group, but their positive attitude and support was greatly uplifting.

    • The meetings really have helped me. Online loops are great, but the face-to-face communication, being able to ask questions in real time, and also the factor of accountability help.

  4. Yay for RWA chapter meetings! And I think as authors, there is definitely more to us than writing. Plus there are only so many times you can listen to workshops on Point of View. 🙂

    • Abigail, there is definitely more to us authors than writing. But it helps to be in like company, doesn’t it? My local chapter is awesome.


Leave a Reply

Categories

