Posted by: selenafulton | August 31, 2012

CHOICES

We make choices in our lives every day. We choose to get out of bed. Or not. We can choose what to have for breakfast, what to wear, and what we will do that day. If we have a job, we can choose whether or not to go in to work, what route to take, and…well…you get the idea.

I have had some things going on in my life recently and was praying for choices. I did not want to do something because I didn’t have a choice. My pattern of thinking at the time was I want to choose between A or B or even C.

But sometimes in life you don’t get a B or C. Sometimes you only have A, and it’s not something you even want. Like when the doctor told Mom she had cancer. Does that mean there is no choice then? Does that mean you have to take A because it was the only choice?

I meditated on this thought, hoping the new week would give me the choices I longed for. It doesn’t matter what they were. What I realized is even when you think you have only one choice, you actually always have at least two. It might be, take it or leave it. Stay or go. Fight or lay down and die.

There is a song that says something along the lines that when you choose not to make a choice, you still have made a choice. Sometimes we don’t want to make a choice because we’re afraid. Afraid we will make the wrong decision, so we might take the easy way out and let the choice be made for us. Let the wind blow us in whatever direction and say, “I didn’t choose this! You can’t blame me!”

But you DID make a choice. Even when there is no door # 1, #2, or #3, you still have choices. Stay or go. Speak or be silent. Act or let someone act in your behalf. It’s your life. Don’t give up control of your life because you’re afraid. Only you know what choices are best for you.

Your life is yours. You may not get the opportunities you hope for, but whether they be disguised as milestones or stumbling blocks, whether they be pleasant or unpleasant, take control of your choices.

What choices will you make today?

Responses

  1. Very true, Selena. Doing nothing is a conscious decision. I’m sorry you’ve been faced with a difficult choice. I’m sure you’ve made the best one you can. Hugs!

    • This week I had choices made for me, and I had other choices I had to make. They were not all for the same thing.

      I am okay with the choices I made this week. But hugs are always appreciated. 🙂

  2. Sometimes you make the best choice you can at the time you make it.

    • This is very true Lynn.

      The key is not to be passive or reactive, but to be confident and proactive. Don’t ride on the wind like dandelion seeds. Take charge of your life. Decide what is best for you and make the moves to make it happen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

