Posted by: selenafulton | November 13, 2012

Big Black Moment

The Big Black Moment is what writers must figure into each novel. It’s the turning point for the hero or heroine. It’s when we sit at the edge of our seats, forget about the popcorn in our hand and wonder, “What will he do next?” “How will she get out of this one alive?”

If you read my earlier post, you know I am participating in the NaNoWriMo for the first time and in a way, my novel is at its Big Black Moment. Or at least my NaNoWriMo challenge, because I haven’t written anything…for a week.

Shame on me.

I have had plenty of excuses. My house needed cleaning. I’m making jewelry for my church’s craft fair next month. I wasn’t home much last week. Oh…and I’m writing this blog. 🙂

No excuse.

So today as I begin working on my manuscript again, I must plunge ahead and write like crazy. I don’t know when I will finish this manuscript. Will I finish my 50,000 words in a month? Will it take me two months?

Enough procrastination for me. I must go write!

We are the hero or heroine of our own story. What is the Big Black Moment in your life? And how will you push forward to win?

Responses

  1. I have a big black moment every day when my alarm goes off. Will she hit the snooze? Or get out of bed to get her son to school on time?

    • I never use the snooze button. I set my alarm for the latest possible time, knowing I have no second chance.

  2. I’ve run into a few NaNo snags so I’m sharing that with you as my current Big Black Moment….but I will keep at it. Sometimes I do a lot better under pressure….:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

