Posted by: selenafulton | June 7, 2013

Liquid Sunshine

I live in “sunny” Florida. We are called the Sunshine State. But days after the beginning of Hurricane season, we have our first tropical storm of the year. Well, hello Andrea!

I was born in the Midwest. No ocean and certainly no hurricanes. We had our share of bad weather of course. Nobody is exempt from that. Blizzards and tornados, but hurricanes? That’s another animal.

While I respect their force and magnitude, I find them fascinating. Have you ever seen the symmetry of a hurricane from a satellite photo?

When we first moved to Florida and experienced our first hurricane, we didn’t know what to expect. The television stations told us to fill our bathtubs full of water. I was a teenager and thought, no way am I drinking out of my bathtub! Later, I would learn why we always had to fill our tub.

Then there was the year we seemed to have a hurricane blow through almost every two weeks. The first one that came through, we woke the next morning to fallen trees everywhere. Some people were without power for a week. Two houses down, our neighbor had three trees in his yard and the horrible part was none of the trees was his! By the time that season ended, I was just plain tired.

Today we got a bit of liquid sunshine.

Stay safe out there.

Responses

  1. Mother Nature has certainly been on a rampage lately, hasn’t she? And the devastation she can cause certainly puts things in perspective. My heart aches for all those who are suffering through the aftermath of those awful tornadoes. And now hurricane season is starting up. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’s a mild one this year. The northeast is still recuperating from last year’s Sandy.

    You be sure to stay safe, Selena. It’s a rainy day up here in CT, the fore-fringes of Andrea, I think, although I haven’t watched a weather report yet to be sure.

    • Thanks, Maura. The sun is already shining today, although we did have a few showers this afternoon. Now it looks like hot and sticky is in the forecast.

      You stay safe too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

