Posted by: selenafulton | July 13, 2013

When doing the right thing isn’t easy

Many of my author friends will be descending upon Atlanta next week at the RWA Convention. They will come from around the globe, attend workshops, pitch their manuscripts to editors and/or agents, and hobnob with NYT Bestselling authors.

I’d planned on going this year. I’d told myself when the conference was in Atlanta I would be there if I had to thumb a ride and sleep in somebody’s bathtub. I set my calendar to July 17 to remind myself of this goal.

But I’m not going this year. Starting a new job, I couldn’t justify asking for time off. Not this soon. I couldn’t justify the expense of the conference. Not this year.

I know I’m not alone, there are many of us staying behind this year for a multitude of reasons. I know I made the right decision to stay home this year, but knowing it was the right thing to do, doesn’t mean I still don’t wish I could go.

Have you ever done the right thing, even if it made you sad? Or did you throw all caution to the winds and do what you wanted, only to pay the consequences? What was the outcome?

Responses

  1. I know, right? it’s so hard, but you are absolutely doing the right thing. It’s easier to throw caution to the wind when you don’t yet have Real Life problems, or when caution won’t take you away for four days with no pay. Your time will come.

    • Thanks Abby.

  2. Yeah, I had to make the same sucky decision last year so I know exactly how you feel. I’m going to miss seeing you there. Hopefully we will meet face to face at next year’s conference. And maybe, to tide you over until next year, you can find a good conference closer to home to go to. Hugs!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

