Posted by: selenafulton | July 30, 2013

Forgetful Harriet

When I was in Jr. High, I moved away from my best friend in the whole world and came to live in the deep south. I wrote letters to many of my “friends”, but there is only one person I still keep in touch with to this day. My best friend, Cindy.

When I said goodbye to her on the bus, I asked if she would write to me. She admitted she wasn’t the most prompt letter writer, but she would try.

I have kept every single letter, card, graduation announcement, and invitation Cindy has ever sent me. You see, she wasn’t kidding when she said she didn’t write often. But when she did – it was more like a book. She would mail everything all at once. Cards, letters and even Christmas gifts arriving in July, I never knew when or what would arrive. It wasn’t like she didn’t think of me. She just had a problem getting her letters into an envelope and to the post office.

She ended her letters with “Don’t be a forgetful Harriet” which was always amusing, seeing as how I was the one who kept most of our correspondence going.

I love my dear friend. Even though we haven’t lived in the same town, or even same state, for many years, we can pick up where we left off as if we had only seen each other yesterday.

A good friend is like gold. Do you have a special friend like I do?

Hey Cindy, don’t be a forgetful Harriet!

Responses

  1. Having a good friend like that is so special. But I so identify with Cindy. I used to be so bad about remembering to send things once I’d addressed the letter. Love the post.

    • I’m getting really bad about remembering things. Maybe I’ve turned into a forgetful Harriet after all! Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

Categories

