Posted by: selenafulton | August 31, 2013

What Do You Do When You Get Stuck?

I don’t believe in “writer’s block”, but sometimes I do get “stuck”. I stare at the screen, my hands hovering over the keyboard, or resting on my mouse, wondering what to write next. Sometimes, my characters don’t cooperate. They mill around like a bunch of bored teenagers, staring at me until I either close the document, or figure out what comes next.

You didn’t know that, did you?

Anyway, the best solution I’ve found is to work on something else. Those bored characters eventually figure things out. Ideas percolate in the back of my mind, but I push them aside until they can no longer stand to be ignored.

Fell right into my plan.

So what do you do, when the characters in our lives don’t cooperate? If you don’t write books, you can’t exactly rewrite their lines, but you don’t have to be a helpless bystander to life either. I ran across a document the other day, and thought I’d share.

“Every moment that you spend upset, despaired, anguished, angry, or hurt because of the behavior of anybody else in your life is a moment in which you’ve given up control of your life.”

I don’t know the author, but when I am down, kicked around by life and feel blue, I remember those words. Then I dust myself off, and get back on track. Because I’m the one who writes my life story!

So take control of your life. Don’t let the turkeys get you down. And keep smiling.

Responses

  1. I love that quote, Selena. And when my characters won’t budge, I do something else, too. I read something totally different from what I’m working on and most time, the answer pops up. And–maybe even more reliable–I go for a drive. For some reason, my mind can line out the problem then. Of course, then I can’t remember it all when I get home to write it down LOL. I tried once to use a voice recorder, but that didn’t really. work.

  2. Selena, I needed that today. Thanks!

  3. A wonderful quote, Selena, and one I need to remind myself of more often. As for what I do when I’m stuck? I usually move on to another scene. That often points out that the first scene was either unnecessary to begin with or was headed in the wrong direction – which probably explains why it had me stuck to begin with. Other times, I’ll plow right through the scene, knowing it’s crappy, and then go back and fix/adjust/delete it as necessary during the editing process. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

