Posted by: selenafulton | March 10, 2014

Welcome to the “My Writing Process” blog tour, which is an ongoing thing each Monday. Beppie Harrison invited me, blogging on March 3, Go check out her blog at http://RomancingtheEras.com”>

After what seemed like weeks of cold and rainy weather, yesterday was beautiful here in northern Florida. I noticed how the trees are budding, the azaellas are blooming, and people are out in their yards clearing out and cleaning up.

I imagine all over the country we are all waiting for springtime. I know I am! Spring is my favorite season of all. It is full of bright colors and multiple shades of green. It’s a season of rebirth and renewal.

Now for the interview about my writing process:

1) What am I working on? Oh, that’s a loaded question. I was the kid who played Monopoly by herself using all the implements. The ultimate multi-tasker. As an adult, I am no different.

As I wait to hear news on one submission, I am currently revving up the gears to begin edits on another. In my “spare time”, I am also revising a manuscript with an entirely new plot twist. A sweet romance, I had to chop out large chunks to make this new plot work. Just like any other surgery, cutting out something hurts, but it’s sometimes necessary. However, I’m over halfway through and have already added new scenes. It is a much stronger story as a result.

Did I say I was a multi-tasker?

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre? It’s probably because of my odd sense of humor. My Midwestern upbringing coupled with living in Florida all my adult life. We all have varied experiences that “flavor” our life experiences.

3) Why do I write what I do? I write stories that speak to my heart. I live vicariously through my characters, that said, when they laugh, I laugh. When they cry, I cry – and when they’re mad – I pound the keyboard!

4) How does my writing process work? I usually crawl out of bed, turn on the coffeemaker and my computer and wait for my eyes to focus! Seriously, my most creative times of the day are early morning and late evening. I go to bed with my story in my head, especially when I’m trying to work through a scene. I have been known to get up in the middle of the night with a flashlight to jot down notes for the morning.

Now if only the cat would leave me alone, I could get some work done!

Thank you for inviting me, Beppie Harrison.

Responses

  1. No wonder we get along so well! My writing process is very similar. Lots of fun, but I find it hard to remember that accurately so often sitting down to write is something I postpone unless it’s getting late and I haven’t written yet, so I sit down, and then I get captured and happily write away until it’s really late, and then I wonder why I’m sleep-deprived.

    I’m a writer. I didn’t say I was smart.


Leave a Reply

Categories

