Posted by: selenafulton | April 3, 2014

Found a treasure

A while back, my dad fell and broke his hip. While in rehab, he asked me to retrieve things from home. A deck of cards, extra tee-shirts, a pen and pad of paper. Little things to make the time pass or make him more comfortable.

One day he told me he had a present for me. It seems the pad I picked up once belonged to my mom. She was forever jotting down notes. Sometimes they were grocery lists, or to do lists, other times she wrote idea for stories she wanted to write.

The acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree. She inspired my love of books and writing.

Anyway, he found her notes on a story she planned to write. The reason it’s a treasure? She’s been gone for over two years. It was as if we opened a time capsule.

Reading it made me smile. And yes, it sounds like a great story.

Responses

  1. What a treasure! Will you write it?

    • Probably. It was a very small note, but she developed and interesting character.

  2. That is super wonderful! Happy for you..now finish her story :o)

  3. That’s awesome. And I think it’s wonderful that you plan to pursue it. Can’t wait to hear more about it as it develops. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

