Posted by: selenafulton | May 10, 2014

Happy Mother’s Day

As I sit here, drinking my morning coffee and listening to the birds sing, I am reminded tomorrow is Mother’s Day. This is the third Mother’s Day without my mom, and all the pretty flowers in the stores, the rows of cards, the perfume, all the gifts people give Mom are out, reminding me that mine is no longer here.

 ?????????????????????????????????

Wasn’t she a pretty mom?

I recently spoke to a man older than me who was dreading Sunday. Working on my edits, I had lost track of the days forgotten about this holiday, so I asked him why. He got choked up and told me his mother had recently passed, and that this was the first Mother’s Day without her. Oh, how I remembered my first one! Whether we are male or female, young or old, our mothers (and our fathers) have shaped our lives.  

My mom was my friend. She was someone I loved to share events in my life, good, happy, or sad. I’d call her when I had to drive long distances alone. Whenever I doubted I could do something, she’d say I could, “Because you’re my daughter, that’s why!”

So, tomorrow, if you are fortunate enough to still have your mom, give her a call. Go visit. Tell her you love her. Because life is but a vapor and one day you won’t have the chance.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. I miss you.

 

Responses

  1. I miss mine, too. Luckily one of my daughters is a mother (5 times over!) and so on Mother’s Day she’s the one that gets a gift —


Leave a Reply

Categories

