Posted by: selenafulton | May 22, 2014

Summertime Memories

The song goes, “Memories, pressed between the pages of my mind.”

I liked that song. It had a nice melody, a sweet sentiment. Last night, I was thinking of memories, of old pictures. Maybe it was because so many people were posting pictures of their mothers recently for Mother’s Day, many of them already gone from this world.

When I was growing up, we used to visit an old lady. She would sometimes even attend family gatherings and I thought she was an aunt or something. In my later years, I discovered she was a family friend. I also liked the idea her last name was Love. Her and her husband had a cottage on a lake they called The Love Nest.

Image

When my mom was a kid, her family spent many happy summers at the Love Nest. I looked at pictures of rowboats on the lake, lily pads, and a small cabin. I can just imagine the damp smell of wet bathing suits, the sounds of kids laughing in the water, and the creak of oars as fishermen go out in the early morning for fishing.

It must’ve been wonderful.

Memorial Day weekend is nearly here. What summer memories will you make?

Leave a Reply

Categories

