Posted by: selenafulton | May 26, 2014

Blog Hop!

I was recently invited on a blog hop for my friend and critique partner, Kathryn J. Bain. If you want to know more about her and her books, check her out at www.kathrynjbain.com.

Now the last time I did a blog hop, I ran out of time to invite anyone to “hop” along with me. Too many apples in the basket! Hopefully, I did better this time!

Here are some of the questions I was asked about my writing process:

1) What am I working on?

That’s a great question! I’m actually working on several projects right now. Ever hear of throwing a bunch of “stuff” against the wall in the hopes that some of it will stick? Well, I recently did just that, and it’s all sticking!

I am working on edits for one project, Like A Bad Penny. It will be coming out with The Wild Rose Press and I’m so excited. This is a reunion story where a young couple is torn apart by circumstances. Years later, they find each other in an unlikely place, but their lives have both changed. Will they get back together? Do they want to? And what about the secret that threatens to tear them apart?

My next project is a fairy tale series that I just signed with Entangled Publishing. The Crystal Slipper is the first in the series, a fun contemporary Cinderella story with a little extra twist. I’ve always loved fairy tales and I’m super excited about working on a series.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My ideas comes from a myriad of places, but I think the biggest difference in my work is my odd sense of humor that comes across in my voice. I love torturing my characters, but I love laughing along with them, too.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I write what I enjoy reading. With the story Like A Bad Penny, I loved the idea of second chances. If we could have a second chance, would we change anything? On my fairy tale series, I have always loved stories with a little magic and love. I hope my readers will enjoy them.

4) How does my writing process work?

Most of the time, I’m a pantser. As I write along, I’m almost surprised by what my characters will do! In The Crystal Slipper, the idea for my story came from a holiday party (much the same way Celinda received her gift), where I received a crystal shoe ornament. I knew the moment I laid hands on that ornament I’d found the source of my next book. It sits prominently on my desk as a reminder.

My most productive writing times are first thing in the morning, and later on in the evening. Even if I have the entire day to myself, I’m rarely productive after about eleven a.m. through until after supper. Maybe it’s because for years while my daughter was growing up, I had to schedule my writing time to whenever I could grab a few moments.

I love the quietness of a new morning when the sun is creeping over the horizon and the birds begin their song. I love sipping my coffee and getting lost in my manuscript, the world I’m building at the moment. In the evening, the same goes. All during my day, I think of my story. While I am driving down the road I try to find out what my characters will do or say. I’ve been known to email or text myself with notes. When I open the document that evening, I’m able to pick up where I left off.

Thank you for sharing a little piece of my world. Below are two writers who have agreed to blog hop with me.

Fay Lamb’s emotionally charged stories remind the reader that God is always in the details. Fay has contracted with Write Integrity Press for three series. Stalking Willowand Better than Revenge, Books 1 and 2 in the Amazing Graceromantic suspense series are currently available for purchase. Charisse and Libby, the first two releases in her The Ties That Bind contemporary romance series are also available. Fay has also collaborated on three romance novellas: The Christmas Three Treasure Hunt, A Ruby Christmas, and the newest A Dozen Apologies. Her adventurous spirit has taken her into the realm of non-fiction with The Art of Characterization: How to Use the Elements of Storytelling to Connect Readers to an Unforgettable Cast.

Future Write Integrity Press releases from Fay are: Everybody’s Broken and Frozen Notes, Books 3 and 4 of Amazing Grace and Hope and Delilah, Books 3 and 4 from The Ties that Bind. Also, look for Book 1 in Fay’s Serenity Key series entitled Storms in Serenity.

Fay and her husband, Marc, reside in Titusville, Florida, where multi-generations of their families have lived. The legacy continues with their two married sons and six grandchildren.

Fay loves to meet readers, and you can find her on her personal Facebook page, her Facebook Author page, and at The Tactical Editor on Facebook. She’s also active on Twitter. Then there are her blogs: On the Ledge, Inner Source, and the Tactical Editor. And, yes, there’s one more: Goodreads.

Mary Elizabeth Hall educates her three daughters at home in sunny South Carolina. They laugh about how they can’t roast marshmallows without experimenting to see how various snack foods burn on a stick. They’re also the only family they know with an 8-foot handmade catapult in their basement. Mary’s prayer is that her husband will dispose of it someday before he dies.

With degrees from Cornell and Syracuse, Mary has a professional background in human services and program management, but she’s found that her true passion is for writing and editing. She’s currently editing history textbooks and has done revision writing for Sonlight Curriculum. Her debut novel Amberly was released in August 2012 and is available in all the usual places. Amberly is the first of a series called Crestmere. Mary’s short story Healer was released in 2011 in Fables for Japan, an anthology to benefit Japan’s tsunami victims, available at no cost from www.fables4japan.com.

Mary enjoys inspiring people to love the Lord with passion and prays that all she writes will honor Him. When she’s not teaching, grading, scrubbing, folding, or chasing (and occasionally writing), she enjoys drawing and photography, teaching guitar, and helping lead worship. Visit her website and blog at http://maryelizabethhall.com/.

I consider these lovely ladies friends as well as fellow authors. Please go check them out!

 

Responses

  1. Great post, Selena! So looking forward to your next book!

    • Thanks Mary! Look for it this fall.


Leave a Reply

Categories

