Posted by: selenafulton | August 20, 2014

Going for your dreams

Want to see something cool?
LikeaBadPenny_w8728_300

I don’t have a release date, but I’ll keep you all posted.

Speaking of posts, I know I haven’t blogged for a few weeks, but I’ve been crazy busy. Some of you know I’m working on two different manuscripts at the same time. I received the galley on one, and the other has gone to the copy editor.

Ever since I was a young girl, I wanted to be a published author. It’s been a long road, with lots of rejections, near misses, and decisions. I’ve ridden the highs and lows writers everywhere share. I’ve attended workshops, pitched to editors and agents, and now…it’s happening.

I’m closer to my dream than ever before.

Years ago, my pastor made an example out of me when it comes to having goals. It isn’t enough to want something. You have to put out the work. Study the material. Do whatever it takes to accomplish your goal. I listened to his sermon, nodding in agreement, thinking of my own goals.

Then he mentioned me by name in front of the entire congregation. I think I turned ten shades of red. He said how I’d written a book and “It’s pretty good.” The manuscript he read hasn’t been published yet, but it was the first time my desire, my goal was out there in the public eye. This was more than a few of my friends knowing my dreams. He made my dreams public to my entire church.

I think if you have a dream, a goal, you have to make it public. Other people WILL make you accountable. The’ll ask you about it, reminding you maybe that you need to get back to work. Dust off that keyboard. Your manuscript will not be published if it never gets off your hard drive!

A couple of nights ago, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed and then I thought, I’m realizing my dream. I’m going to have not one, but TWO books out shortly!

I couldn’t wipe the smile from my face.
Can’t wait to reveal my second cover!

I’m almost there!

 

Responses

  1. Can’t wait to read this one, Beth. Congratulations.

  2. Thanks June!

  3. So very happy for you! Beautiful cover.


Leave a Reply

Categories

