Posted by: selenafulton | October 9, 2014

What’s a writer to do?

I’ll admit it. I’m very excited to see my book out there. I LOVE my cover. Isn’t it gorgeous?

the-crystal-slipper-500

But reality is here.

In between marketing and promoting my book, and riding on the waves of euphoria of seeing my work in print, I have another book to write.

My deadline for book two isn’t for a couple of months, but each day the gap narrows. And hey, the last quarter of the year is always hectic for me. What to do about Thanksgiving? And even though I always intend to get my Christmas cards mailed out early – or even on time – the holidays always still creep up on me.

I don’t know how my mom managed to all those things…wait. Yes, I do. She made lists upon lists. She wrote notes on her calendar. And she shopped for Christmas gifts in July.

I’m not quite that organized, but I do take advantage of automation. So as my deadline AND the holidays approach, (I can’t believe I saw Christmas things on store shelves in September), I will focus on my next manuscript. I’d rather turn it in early than agonize over my computer at three a.m.

Who knows? Maybe I won’t send out Christmas cards this year…but my manuscript will be complete! Because what does a writer do when she finishes her book? She begins the next one.

Leave a Reply

Categories

